Skip to content

Danielle on “The Radical Life”

May 10, 2010

Danielle wrote an article called “The Radical Life” that’s featured over on Ungrind and I’ve found great encouragement in it today. Maybe you’ve also struggled with how life can seem so mundane when it comes to nursing, caring for, and raising your own children when well, you could be on some great adventure somewhere else! Here are a few snippets from Danielle’s article:

I longed for more “productive” things I could be doing other than spending every few hours feeding my boys. My Type A personality could barely stand all the time I was “wasting” by sitting around all day on the couch nursing.

One day God spoke to my heart and showed me that although I’d longed to glorify God on the mission field, I wasn’t seeking to glorify Him at home. He impressed on me that caring for my babies’ daily needs was the specific way I could glorify Him in this season of life.

I now see God was gracious to show me how selfish I was and I know this was just the beginning of rooting out selfishness in the journey of motherhood.

Even though God hasn’t led me to the foreign mission field to start orphanages, He’s taught me how to glorify Him in my own home.

Check out the whole article on Ungrind.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 9:27 pm

    Hi, I’m not even sure how I found your blog, but I LOVE it. I’m from Dallas too, but my husband and I (and our 3 little girls) serve overseas with the International Mission Board. We are here for just a few more weeks before we return and I am delighted to have found your blog. You are writing about things that are heavy on my heart- feeling “productive” as mom of 3 young ones and the American dream and wants, wants, wants. We have been here since Christmas for a 6 months furlough and I’ve never felt more bombarded with “getting” and buying. It’s insane. Anyway, I know this is random. Just wanted to say hi.

  2. May 17, 2010 12:51 pm

    Charity- Wow. Thanks so much for your kind words and for saying hi. They really encouraged me. That is awesome that you serve overseas with your family. Thank you for the work you are doing 🙂

    I’d love to know any other topics that interest you as I always love to know what my readers enjoy reading.

    Nice to meet you and God Bless.

  3. May 17, 2010 1:00 pm

    Great to meet you too! My husband and I just finished reading Crazy Love and Forgotten God have now started Radical. So maybe that gives you an idea of what is on our hearts! Thanks for your comment and I look forward to keeping up with you via your blog!

    Blessings,
    Charity

  4. May 18, 2010 9:48 am

    The greatest leaders in the world are mothers. Women, if you want to be on mission, your single greatest mission field is your family. There is no greater global influence than the nurturing touch of the mother. Behind every great man is an even greater mom. Thanks moms for all you do!

  5. May 18, 2010 5:01 pm

    Glad this blessed you in some way, Samantha! I’ve missed the past few posts on your blog. Somehow my feed got “knocked off” or something, but I think I’m resubscribed again!

Leave a comment