Skip to content

Daring to Risk a Little More

August 24, 2011

“I want to go up there!” my son John shouted pointing to the white monkey bars off in the distance. They were really high and obviously not suited for his age, but we wanted to let him try. Besides, great determination was in his eyes.

We ran over to the monkey bars and my husband lifted him up. His little fingers latched on to the first bar and he made it to the next. He tried to hold on, but he lost his grip.

“All done!” he cried.

Daddy pulled him down and after a few minutes, even though it was a little scary, you could tell he was satisfied with the attempt.

John’s zeal to go just a little further taught me a lot about my own faith. Often, I’m content and comfortable to stay “elementary” in my faith instead of maturing and growing up towards godliness.

Pursuing more in my faith requires discipline and discipline is hard work. I think that’s why I’m quick to remain put and not take risks that seem difficult or even impossible by human standards.

But God has called me to something so much greater. He calls me to step out of comfort and into living on mission for Him, meaning that I must give MORE.

  • Giving more in the way I serve others for no other reason but love.
  • Giving more in the way I raise my children and love and respect my husband.
  • Giving more in the way I use my gifts and abilities so that others will be edified and equipped.
  • Giving more in the way I share the resources and money God has entrusted to me.
  • Giving more in the way I proclaim the gospel to whoever God puts on my path.

Failure, disappointment, and conflict are all risks that come with this kind of giving and it is radical. But the joy and fullness and blessing of knowing God through giving more away is irreplaceable—bringing me just a little bit closer to complete maturity and Christ-likeness.

John was craving more when he saw those big kid monkey bars. While he was innocent of the dangers, he trusted in his daddy to help him reach each challenge.

So it is with God.

What areas in your life do you need to give more? What are you risking?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 1:16 pm

    Time. I’m risking time. I’m meeting with another guy weekly to read the book of Romans together (being discipled by him) and going to meet with another guy to read a different book of the Bible and disciple him. I’m realizing I need to be discipled and to disciple others – that’s the call Jesus put out to each of us.

    • August 25, 2011 1:38 pm

      That’s awesome Andy. Time is definitely a risk. Everyone needs a Paul, Timothy and a Barnabas in his or her life. Right now, I’m praying for a Timothy.

  2. Rowena Dunshea permalink
    August 25, 2011 1:32 pm

    I love it how some amazing people, like yourself, can see so much in the “little things”. Great article. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. On Sailing… and Serving Others With Your Gifts & Passions « samanthakrieger.com

Leave a Reply

