Skip to content

Who is your God?

April 26, 2011

Recently I took John to Barnes & Noble to play with the Thomas Train table in the children’s section and on our way out after playing trains, I saw the book god is not Great by Christopher Hitchens as one of the featured sellers.

I haven’t read the book. I’m familiar with the author from Apologetics classes I took in seminary. But the title got my mind thinking and when I got home, I decided to write down who God really is…

My God is Great.

He is Creator. Redeemer. Healer.

He is the same, yesterday, today, and forever.

He is all-knowing, all-powerful, everywhere.

He understands suffering because He suffered on the cross.

He is Father to the fatherless and near to the brokenhearted.

He is Living Water to the prostitute.

He is full of compassion, mercy, and will judge sin.

He is a God of grace.

He forgives all sins.

He is a rock to those who take refuge in Him.

He formed the mountains. He knit me together in my mother’s womb.

He is able to keep us from failing.

He is to be feared.

He is mighty to save. He is King.

He is our song. He is our light. He is Life.

He proved His love by dying on the cross.

He is Savior of the World.

He is the way, the truth, and the life.

He is deliverer. He has washed us clean of our sins.

He searches the heart.

He is our hope. He makes all things new.

He turns ashes into beauty.

He is coming back for his own.

He loves you, and me, and Christopher Hitchens.

That is our God. And He is Great. And I have not even scratched the surface.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 9:47 am

    This is why I read blogs, because frequently God will have exactly the message I need to hear at the exact moment I need to hear it, thank you for letting Him use you to soften my heart and fall to my knees before Him.

  2. April 26, 2011 1:16 pm

    Rob- thank you for reading. I love how God does that as well. Thankful that His Word has the power to change us.

  3. April 26, 2011 6:00 pm

    THAT was worship! Well said, Samantha.

    As an aside, I just finished reading the book by Peter Hitchens, “The Rage Against God” – he’s Christopher Hitchens’ younger brother and a Christian (and works to debunk his brother’s writing). Definitely a good read!

    • April 29, 2011 1:29 pm

      had no idea he had a brother who was a Christian. Thanks for letting me know. I need to look into that book!

  4. Dean permalink
    April 27, 2011 10:17 am

    Amen Samantha!

  5. April 29, 2011 12:36 pm

    Oh, I like coming here. I’m always encouraged. Loved your last line. . .”He loves you, and me, and Christopher Hitchens.” True, true, true.

  6. May 2, 2011 1:03 pm

    Agreeing with you…..a few days later….but agreeing with you as if we’re in the moment together. Love this. There was a time I’ll never forget that I was prompted to comprise my own list that only scratched the surface as well. I titled it “You are…..” I was overlooking a beautiful rushing river and God just drew me into His sweet presence by remembering and even learning who He is.

    Pretty wild that the author has a brother who is a believer and writer……interesting dynamic….can’t help but wonder where the Mom or Dad might be in regards to faith in Christ.

  7. May 9, 2011 2:28 pm

    Beautiful post babe. I love you!

    Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

