Skip to content

Poetry: My daughter

January 11, 2011

Her eyes are a royal blue, her hair is dark brown

She smiles, coos and makes sweet sounds

Only two months old

Yet so much love pours from her soul

Teaching me how I am a mess

and about life, and faith, and selflessness

She is my daughter

Kathryn Bowman Photography

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 1:48 pm

    Beautiful Samantha! Even in my stage of parenthood with a ‘tween daughter and 4th grade son, I am finding that they are “teaching me how I am a mess”…more to the point, God uses them to teach me how I am a mess!

  2. January 11, 2011 2:31 pm

    Thanks Andy. Yep, that’s pretty much it. I definitely have seen more of the fact that I am a sinner in need of grace every day.

    Thanks for your thoughts!

  3. January 11, 2011 3:30 pm

    And she is precious! Love this, Samantha. You are a beautiful Mom

  4. January 11, 2011 9:56 pm

    Awww, so glad to see these! She’s beautiful! Isn’t it such a blessing?

  5. January 13, 2011 8:36 am

    so cute! thanks for sharing! here’s mine for this thursday.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/the-tears/

  6. Sei ermutigt permalink
    January 14, 2011 12:53 am

    This is my precious daughter and I’m her beautiful mom who is in need of God’s healing, forgiving, loving grace daily!

    See how her eyes are a royal blue and her hair is dark brown.

    Just look how my treasured daughter smiles, coos, makes sweet sounds, teaches and inspires me to be more trusting and selfless!

    How can so much love pour forth from such a life-ennobling, God-blessed childwho is only two months old?

  7. January 14, 2011 3:13 am

    this was utterly beautiful…the pictures were sooo cute 🙂 🙂 i loved this a lot…and i know sometimes our children can teach us so much with their innocence..

  8. January 14, 2011 10:44 am

    adorable shots.

  9. January 14, 2011 10:44 am

    How are you? I placed your link under Thursday Poets Rally week 37 fresh poets to explore, you may get some visits from our participants…

    Want to make more poetic friends? You have to become a participant and stay active with fellow poets. Join Us Now, it is free and fun!

    Please leave your link under my agreement post when you are ready…Poetry Awards are assigned upon completion…Hope to see you in…

    Your poetry rocks!
    Keep Writing, Happy 2011!
    xx

  10. kristierandolph permalink
    January 14, 2011 2:11 pm

    Manth, here’s my poem:

    Your daughter
    I need
    to meet her.

    🙂 love you!

Leave a Reply

