Skip to content

can I have your feedback?

December 14, 2010

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want this blog to look like in 2011. Since I started blogging three years ago, I’ve written whatever is on my heart regarding faith, marriage, motherhood, authenticity, missional living, writing, and more. I’ve posted about once a week and sometimes twice a week.

But I’m ready to have more clarity on what this blog is truly about. I’d like it so that when you come here, you’ll know that each post will reveal that focus (in some way, shape, or form!). Maybe it already does, but I’m just not sure.

I have some ideas on the focus I’d like to take, but I would love your thoughts in this process- whether you’ve been reading for several years, a few months, or maybe weeks. Please keep these questions in mind, but don’t worry about answering them word for word:

What makes you want to stop by and read?

How would you describe this blog?

What have been some of your favorite posts?

What topics do you like to read about?

Are there any topics you’d like to see more of?

What kind of stories do you like to read about?

In what ways have you been challenged and encouraged?

Do you see this blog as a place for online community?

If you’d rather send an email, you can write me at: samantha [AT] samanthakrieger [dot] [com]

Thank you in advance for helping me find some clarity!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 1:00 pm

    Samantha…write from the heart and follow the direction of the Holy Spirit. I appreciate your openness and honesty about your journey in Christ and how it looks in the context of your marriage and family. That’s what continues to draw me here.

  2. December 14, 2010 2:31 pm

    Thanks Andy. I appreciate it πŸ™‚ Being open and honest about my journey in Christ is definitely what I strive to do so I appreciate that you’ve seen that. And it’s helpful to see you say it. Do you feel like the blog name “Faith and Life in Writing” captures that? I was thinking of renaming it to “Striving for an Authentic Faith”. Any ideas are welcomed. Thanks again.

    • December 17, 2010 2:27 pm

      I don’t think you need to give this blog a new title…you are your own “brand” (for lack of a better term). You’re writing because you are sharing who you are…and you’re Samantha!

      And…happy anniversary!

  3. December 14, 2010 4:06 pm

    How would you describe this blog?

    I’d say it’s about spiritual growth, in all it’s forms. And I really like that about your blog! I think as long as you keep writing about your life and what you care about, your topics will be authentic. I generally like blogs that have a lot of “you” in them. Blogs where the real person comes through as opposed to “corporate blogs” for lack of a better word. πŸ™‚

    • December 14, 2010 11:47 pm

      I really value your feedback Danielle. Very helpful and I’m so glad you see it in that way. Thank you!

  4. Anna permalink
    December 14, 2010 4:17 pm

    I’ll read your blog either way… but just my two cents. I love reading your faith persepective, Christian current events and how your faith is impacted in life, raising a family, etc. I read lots of blogs and I love hearing how women are relating to their families, and raising their kids. So that’s always fine, but I think you have a gift at putting ‘faith in practice’ into words and I hope you continue doing that. I think you could even share more ‘devotional’ type posts or your thoughts on how current events relate to faith, etc. Regarding the online community… I don’t know that I’ve really gotten into that asort of thing, so I can’t really comment too much on that. πŸ™‚

    • December 14, 2010 11:52 pm

      Anna– thank you for taking the time to write that out. It is so helpful to see it from your perspective. I have wanted to do more devotional type posts but just haven’t- thanks for the encouragement. And I really appreciate you letting me know about the “faith in practice” πŸ™‚

  5. December 15, 2010 10:11 pm

    Sam, I agree with the others posting here. You have a gifted way of putting faith into practice, yet you’re open about areas you struggle with. Plus, we’re friends, of course, so I just like coming to your blog so I can keep up with your life and what God’s doing with you and your family.

  6. December 15, 2010 11:08 pm

    I haven’t posted a comment in a while but I do read your blog and I love you simply sharing your heart. I also went through a phase of wanting to “streamline” by blog and get more of a focus in one particular area and I may still do that at some point but I think you have a lot of wisdom in many different areas and I love to hear your thoughts on different topics like you’ve been doing. Just hearing from you where you are at the moment is great. And as a young Mom of two, “wherever you are” is probably all over the map with ups and downs and feeling overwhelmed many days. And while I sense your spirit enough to know you’d never turn your blog into a dumping ground or huge venting sessions I do think it’s refreshing to hear from other Moms who struggle with the same issues that we all struggle with but don’t always say out loud. You are real and that’s what keeps me coming back.

    • December 16, 2010 12:57 pm

      Melody- wow, thank you so much for your encouragement and your thoughts regarding my blog. That’s neat that you had the same desire to “streamline”. You are definitely right about the overwhelmed feeling you can get as a mom. It’s funny how writing really helps me on those overwhelming days to be refreshed. I’m excited to continue in sharing my heart while hitting different topics. Thank you so much for reading!

  7. December 16, 2010 1:12 pm

    Samantha,

    I like so many things about your blog! Ok, so let’s start with the basics. You have a great layout. Tons of buttons, advertisments, and nonsense only distract me. That doesn’t seem to be you and I like it.

    I want to read your blog because you discuss real and relevant issues without being preachy or long winded. I like your blog because you include your family, but your family isn’t the overall focus. God is. Growth is.

    Anyway, super excited to see your next steps. Also, I hope you don’t mind if I use that Trader video. Wow. It’s really good. I’ll make sure to link back to you! Good luck.

    • December 28, 2010 9:10 pm

      Amy- Wow thank you so much. I agree right with you on all those things that can really take away from the writing!

      What you have to say really helps me find clarity. Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. πŸ™‚

  8. Jonita permalink
    December 22, 2010 4:52 pm

    sam, i dont read blogs but found your link on fb and decided to see what it was about. I am not married yet nor have kids so sometimes its hard to relate. But what i love is your ability to express a hurt, issue, or frustration and what the rescue of our Hero looks like in every situation. Your ability to ask a question that captures the attention of my heart is astounding. love you my dear friend and you have my support.

    • December 28, 2010 9:18 pm

      Jonita- love you. thank you for taking the time to encourage me. It means a ton! And I’m so glad you are reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

