Skip to content

Choosing Gratitude

November 24, 2010

This week- just a day before Thanksgiving- I’ve been reminded of how ungrateful I am over so many things. It’s such a crazy thing because I’d normally consider myself a thankful person but I’ve been taking a good look into my heart and I’ve found some ugly parts that aren’t so beautiful.

Like being ungrateful that:

  • we live in a tiny apartment with no space for anything
  • I can’t fit into any jeans because I’m in the awkward stage of post pregnancy
  • we are always paying bills and can’t seem to build our savings account how we want
  • the weather is 80 degrees in late November
  • I rarely have time for “me” because my toddler needs constant attention

Instead of being grateful that:

  • we have a warm bed to sleep in, a roof over our head, and seminary life is for a season
  • I just gave birth to a beautiful, healthy baby girl
  • God has given us the ability to make money and our needs are met above and beyond
  • It’s not so cold that you can’t go outside
  • I’m investing into the life of my child so he can make a difference in the world one day

It’s hard to be thankful when things aren’t always the way I hope they’d be. But supernaturally, God is able to help me choose gratitude and give me real joy– every day- not just when I’m gathered around the table for turkey once a year.

And that is what’s beautiful!

Be joyful always, pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. – 1 Thes. 5:16-18

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stefanie permalink
    November 24, 2010 9:49 am

    Great post little sis. Love you!!!!

  2. Anna permalink
    November 24, 2010 10:27 am

    I was thinking about the same things, this morning! It’s a real attitude shift, you know? About changing the daily running commentary in our heads/hearts. And if we had nothing else to be thankful for, we have Christ – and that’s more than enough. (Easy to say… honestly hard to live out – for me, anyway.)

  3. November 24, 2010 10:38 am

    Thank you for the lesson in perspective!

  4. Josef permalink
    December 18, 2010 9:24 pm

    Be joyful always, pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for Samantha and Jeremiah in Christ Jesus. (See 1 Thes. 5:16-18)

    Be encouraged Samantha, for your investing into the life of your children is already reaping rich rewards!

    Yes, supernaturally, God is able to bless and help you to choose being grateful and give you daily, life-enhancing joy.

Leave a Reply

