Skip to content

five minutes to let it shine

September 29, 2010

Over the past few Sundays, my pastor Todd has been encouraging our church to share our stories of grace authentically and intentionally with the people we encounter every day right here in Dallas. Last week, I had about five minutes to do what I knew God was impressing upon on my heart.

I was at Jamba Juice and a guy in his 20s was serving my sister-in-law Charis and I our smoothies. I asked him if he was a student and he wasn’t, but did have a kid. Charis talked with him a little bit about nutrition. He was easy to talk to and friendly.Β He poured the leftover smoothie from my cup and gave the remaining to my son. He also gave us some samples of their breakfast granola and dried fruit.

But that wasn’t it. I knew I was supposed to give him one of the orange cards that I carry in my purse that has the info to our church on it.

Then suddenly, about 3-4 people started coming through the door and he was slammed. 5 minutes pass by. Then 10. Then 15. I told Charis how I really wanted to invite him to our church, but the opportunity wasn’t happening.

I was determined to give him the card so while he was serving customers and getting their smoothies, I stepped in behind the counter. In the midst of all the blenders grinding and chatter, I invited him to come and told him how our church is full of young adults and has a great children’s ministry. I was a little concerned about who could hear me.

His eyes lit up and he smiled. “You know what?” he said. “I moved here a year ago and I’ve been looking for a church. Thank you so much! I’m going to check it out Sunday.”

Really? You are? I thought.

I couldn’t believe it. His response was not what I expected!

While inviting the Jamba Juice guy to church is not the same as presenting the gospel, it was an invitation for him to see the gospel at work in the lives of others. It was a step in the right direction.

I think so many times I wait for the perfect moment to say anything about my faith or my church, and it never happens. I fear what people think of me. I’m sometimes not walking in the spirit, or even know how to articulate my words naturally. I fear I will sound stupid or crazy. This experience taught me to shine my light in whatever window of opportunity exists and to just go for it and be who I am.

No matter what.

Have you had any opportunities to shine your light?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 8:55 am

    Great story Samantha. I know I can overthink these things and sometimes it’s just a matter of a simple gesture. You planted a seed. That’s all you needed to do. God will water it!

  2. September 29, 2010 10:15 am

    That’s awesome! Last night while I was grocery shopping my check out girl looked like she could be university age and I talked myself out of inviting her to our university home group that meets every Wed. in our home. I was scared, just like you said, and as the conversation goes she had just moved here to start university and was very homesick and knew no one. Whoa. Who knows if she will come tonight, but I was obedient to what I felt God wanted me to do. Maybe I’ll look for her next time and get in her line again! πŸ™‚

    • September 29, 2010 10:41 am

      that’s awesome Charity. So neat to hear about your intentionality with her. It’s crazy how you never know where people are coming from or what they’re going through.

      We purposefully get in the same line as a cashier guy we’ve gotten to know at Whole Foods. Sometimes it feels funny to get in his line, but it’s been great to build that relationship. I hope you’ll see her again πŸ™‚

  3. Zack Wells permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:54 am

    Samantha, That Was Great God Bless you I think he will Really Enjoy Watermark

  4. September 29, 2010 11:01 am

    That was an awesome story! So many ordinary chances to engage with people.

  5. September 29, 2010 4:20 pm

    That a girl Amanda! Praying now that your Jamba juice friend is strengthened in the faith and becomes a missionary to others form his Jamba Juice.

    Praying that the Lord continues to increase both your opportunities and boldness! Keep inviting them to church and here’s praying that soon the Lord gives you an opportunity to invite them to understand the gospel with you. Atta girl….stay at it!

  6. September 30, 2010 1:37 pm

    Thanks so much Zack and Megan!

    And thank you Todd for your prayers, encouragement, and how you’re allowing God to use you to impact the body πŸ™‚

  7. September 30, 2010 10:30 pm

    Samantha,

    So this as obviously something I need to work on because I actually felt nervous for YOU in this story. Why is sharing my faith with strangers so tough? I know I need to work on this, but oh, it is a struggle.

    ps Jamba Juice rocks.

    • October 7, 2010 7:27 pm

      Amy- Yes Jamba Juice does indeed rock. Wish I could afford their smoothies every day πŸ™‚ Good to hear I’m not the only one in this struggle!

  8. October 2, 2010 10:36 am

    What a great story! I tend to feel like if I’m not getting the opportunity then there isn’t an opportunity, but I’ll look at that feeling differently next time. Thank you for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. On Sailing… and Serving Others With Your Gifts & Passions « samanthakrieger.com

Leave a Reply

