Skip to content

What do you love about fall?

September 23, 2010

Fall is my favorite time of year.

While it comes a bit later living in Dallas, I often reflect on the beautiful fall days I enjoyed in college and in seminary in Virginia.

The bright orange, yellow, brown, and red colored leaves on the trees are breathtaking.

The gentle, slightly cool breeze brushing against your face lets you know change is ahead and a new season is at hand.

Pumpkin spice candles and lattes permeate the air and hug your soul.

Sweet apple cidar with cinnamon sticks simmer in the crock pot, smelling so good, your mouth melts.

Fall for our family is also significant of life. My husband Jeremiah, my son John, and myself were all born in the fall (October exactly). Our baby girl is expected to arrive this fall as well.

I believe God gives us all the tiny little joys of fall to remind us that he’s involved in the changing colors of our lives. He makes all things new and he’s in the process of transforming all of us, season by season.

What do you love about fall?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    September 23, 2010 10:21 am

    It’s my favorite time of year, too! That’s why we waited SO long to get married… because I really, really wanted a fall wedding. Even though Charlie proposed on my birthday in December. I love the leaves, the cool nights and warm days, the break from oppressive heat, the long sleeves and hats and scarves, the brown and gold and rust and orange. We are thrilled to go to New Hampshire next week for the peak time of fall leaves! Oh, and I also love the fall foods… heartier, thicker, warmer. But by the end of winter I’ll be desperate for strawberries and watermelon again. Isn’t it nice how God gives us seasons to look forward to?

  2. September 23, 2010 11:52 am

    Love it Anna! So fun you get to experience New Hampshire fall. Can’t wait to see pics ๐Ÿ™‚ Yep, I love how he gives us the seasons!

  3. September 23, 2010 8:58 pm

    What do I not love!? I love the cool weather, vibrant colors of leaves, wearing flipflops with jeans, cozy evenings reading/knitting/movie watching. I love apples, baking, everything else fall brings!

  4. September 24, 2010 12:43 pm

    Crazy, crazy about the fall! I love the smell of burning leaves, cool nights, red leaves, and apple picking (going tomorrow!). I love the surprise that fall brings. It is as if I somehow forget how amazing this time of year is, and then come September I’m reminded again.

    Your family members all have fall birthdays? How fun!

  5. September 24, 2010 1:08 pm

    flipflops with jeans- oh yes! I’m starting to get hungry for some apple pie ๐Ÿ™‚

    That is so true about the little surprises of fall. Yes, Amy, we’re all in Oct. My birthday is the 2nd, husband’s is the 20th, son’s is 23rd, and our daughter is due on the 26th. Crazy I know!

    You know, I realized yesterday that I forgot to mention Fall Football! I know the guys appreciate that.

  6. September 29, 2010 8:10 am

    Fall–I love the fact that when the air turns cooler, the leaves change color (here in CO, the Aspen’s turning yellow), and you know it won’t be long till we’re all eating turkey and stuffing. I love candy corn on Halloween. Pumpkin dip with ginger cookies. The sound of wind blowing leaves everywhere. (I hate wind, actually, but I like the sound of leaves rustling. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Holiday movies on TV.

    Basically, I love fall.

Leave a Reply

