Skip to content

how a child makes love stronger

August 12, 2010

“A baby will make love stronger, days shorter, nights longer, bankroll smaller, home happier, clothes shabbier, the past forgotten, and the future worth living for.”  – Author Unknown

My “baby” is now an active 22 month old toddler and I can relate so much to that quote. John’s life has instilled something within me I never knew was possible: to love deeper and to see my future truly worth living for.

Even in the challenges that come with raising John, I’ve found no greater joy that I get to help mold and shape his life and who he will become one day. And the even more incredible thing is that in turn, my own life is being changed. As the months pass by so so quickly, God is using John to make me more like Christ- exposing my impatience, selfishness, pride, and helping me become more patient, selfless, and humble.

With a baby girl arriving late October, I know the nights will be longer again, our bank account smaller, and my clothes will probably be stained and shabby. But I know that yet again, her little life will help me see that the future is worth living for because I am the only one she will ever call “Momma.”

I’m not exactly sure how, but I know that God will use her, yet again, to show me more about His love.

How has your love grown stronger?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Kimrey Pitts permalink
    August 13, 2010 10:06 pm

    Love this post! And….thinking of you too! Sending you some ‘baby girls are awesome vibes’ from NC 🙂 I know you are so excited to meet her in October! I just love babies, not that I would want to be Mrs Dugger from “19 kids and counting”…but we would have four kids if we could afford them!

    *not that you have a TON of time, but check out Kelle Hampton’s blog if you havent already–I’m HOOKED…oh yeah-grab some kleenex!*

    -Mary

  2. August 14, 2010 8:01 pm

    Mary- did you know that I found that quote on your Facebook page? I loved it the first time I read it.

    I hear you on not wanting 19 kids, but at least a handful right? 🙂

    I will definitely check out Kelle’s blog. Thanks for letting me know about her.

  3. brbruce permalink
    August 16, 2010 12:44 pm

    Sam, when you mentioned being the only “momma” your little girl will have–I just smiled because knowing that I’m the only one Ash will ever call “momma” makes my heart happy. It seems like long nights and less money are small sacrifices in comparison to the joy of having the love of a child (your child) .

  4. August 16, 2010 8:01 pm

    I just love this post, Samantha! What wonderful words you have written to encourage future mothers!

    Be very encouraged for you sound like a great “Momma” and I think that you’ll get better and better at being a “Momma” as time goes by.

  5. August 17, 2010 7:45 am

    nothing compares to the love of a child- that’s for sure. I have to remind myself of that on the day when those “sacrifices” seem much harder than they really are 🙂

    Being a momma is definitely a serious role- not to be taken lightly! Thanks for the comments.

  6. September 5, 2010 11:35 pm

    I just cried a bit now when I read this post, very much true. My first daughter Vanessa made me experience draining my patience. She’s been the very opposite of an expected child since birth (cry baby, picky eater, easy to wake while sleeping and gave me terrible loooong nights) and till now still in her terrible two’s (she’s 4 years old now last August).

    Your post gave me renewed strength to be strong. My second daughter Evangeline however is the very opposite of my first born.

Leave a Reply

