Skip to content

Dream a little Dream

May 20, 2010

I was recently asked by my friend Abby to be her writing mentor as she’s in the process of writing a family-focused small group curriculum for I am Second as part of her internship at Dallas Theological Seminary.

Last night, over tea at Starbucks, we had our first meeting to talk about writing. It was exciting to dream about what her curriculum could like before it’s even fleshed out on paper. But it was more exciting to dream about something that has great potential to impact a lot of people.

I left our meeting encouraged and excited for Abby’s project. And I was reminded that I am definitely a dreamer. A day doesn’t go by that I don’t dream about something that is sparked in my thoughts, something from music, a movie, conversation, God’s word, or a book. I believe God gives us dreams for a reason. I believe he plants certain desires within us and that some of those desires we will never escape because they are directly from Him.

I think it’s also natural to get frustrated when we don’t see those dreams come to fruition, but yet we still believe that some day they will happen. We believe that God wants to do something in us that is much greater than ourselves.

My prayer is that Abby’s dreams for this curriculum will be fulfilled above and beyond what she imagines.

Do you consider yourself a dreamer? Or have any specific dreams? If you go first, I’ll tell you  some of mine.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 4:38 pm

    This is a timely post for me. I’ve known since age 6 that the Lord wanted me to sing and to write, and often I lose focus on the purpose of each. I forget that He is my primary audience and begin to put my eyes on the “we-regret” letters from publishing companies, etc. Isn’t He kind to gently lead us back into perspective? He’s so good to remind me that He’s more interested in the process, and the character I gain through the process, as He is in the ultimate goal.

    Bless you!

  2. May 24, 2010 7:45 am

    Chrystal- thanks for sharing this. Do you hope to sing and write songs or write (books, etc) in addition to singing?

    I too have the dream of being an author one day (of a book or books). But as you said, I’m still in the “process” phase and have really had to focus on what is priority right now (family). Thanks for the reminder that He indeed is the ultimate goal and will always be..

    even when our dreams come true!

    • May 25, 2010 4:43 pm

      I would say both songs and books/articles, though (at this point) I’m more confident in my prose than my lyrics. Perhaps that’s ultimately the problem–I’m looking at “my” product rather than seeking to let Him use me as a carrier of His voice. Ah, the joy of realigning perspective again and again.

      Do you have anything book-length you’re seeking to publish? How has the process been for you?

  3. May 24, 2010 9:23 am

    Hey Samantha,

    I have a dream of developing a DVD teaching curriculum for missions. It just something I am so passionate about. It’s funny too, I have noticed there are different types of dreamers. I am not sure how your dreams come to you but one thing I truly appreciate and thank God for about dreaming is the ability to see the great potential that lies in something that may currently be dormant.

    By the way, I just checked out I am Second and love it, thanks for the link!

    ~Steve
    http://www.martyrpriest.com

  4. May 24, 2010 10:07 am

    That’s awesome Steve. It sounds like a lot of us have quite a few writing dreams out there. Love it. I too love looking ahead at “potential.”

    So glad you got to check out I am Second. Around here, it seems like a lot of people know about it but I forget that in other parts of the country, people don’t yet. I am Second is doing some awesome things as a tool for evangelism. They are also heavy into developing small group curriculum that goes with their real-life stories, etc.

Leave a Reply

