Skip to content

Life is in Creating

March 25, 2010

This post has been inspired by one of my new favorite blogs: History in the Making with Ben Arment. Ben’s passion for the church and for creativity leaks all over his blog. It’s awesome.

Yesterday he wrote about how creating is worth all the potential consequences. He lists what those consequences might be and says to not create is simply…

the greatest tragedy.

This struck such a chord with me because all my life, all I’ve wanted to do was create. Whether it was through creating a photo book for my family for Christmas, an imaginary story while playing dolls or building forts with my friends, a short story in creative writing class, a scrapbook, photos in the darkroom, a non-fiction article from scratch… the list goes on.

For me to not create would be impossible because it’s part of who I am. It’s how God has designed and wired me. And this desire to create doesn’t make me better than someone who doesn’t particularly love to “create” or would say that being creative isn’t one of his or her gifts. It’s all about how God is best glorified through us, whether that’s working with numbers, performing surgeries, or writing scripts.

In a sense though, we all have the ability to create something. We’re made in the image of God, the Creator.

I don’t know if I’ve come to the place yet where I’m willing to risk it all though. I have a huge desire to craft a book proposal, but I wonder if it’s worth creating even if it gets rejected a thousand times. Is it worth writing if I have to rewrite it or if it never sees the light of day?

For some reason I think God would say yes. It’s just up to me to dive in and risk.

What about you… Can you live without creating? What are you currently creating or hoping to create in the future?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 9:25 am

    I’ll link over and visit his blog

  2. March 25, 2010 9:47 am

    great. hope you enjoy.

  3. March 25, 2010 11:02 am

    No, I couldn’t live without creating. That’s exciting about your book proposal! I’m thinking the same thing, except I’m going to write the book before the proposal, which I know isn’t the way everyone does it for non-fiction, but I want to say what I feel God has for me to say whether it’s “published” or not. It helps me be disciplined.

    Anyway, this post reminded me of one of my favorite books called “The Hidden Art of Homemaking” by Edith Schaeffer. If you’ve not read it, you HAVE to. You’d love it. It’s not what you think. It’s not your typical homemaking book. Instead, it’s about using the arts in everyday life. Drama, writing, art, etc. and incorporating into a lifestyle. So good.

    • March 25, 2010 11:34 am

      Danielle- that’s admirable. I love the motive behind it. Would love to be in the loop about that.

      I have heard of The Hidden Art of Homemaking through Rhonda Fast’s blog. I really need to order that book. Thanks for the reminder. I know I will love it… I’m all about the non-typical homemaking books 🙂

  4. March 25, 2010 7:27 pm

    Truly, it is absolutely essential for our well-being to be creative. Indeed as God loves us more deeply we become more creative!

    What a wondrous joy it is to profoundly thank Him for inspiring us to creative God-honoring words and deeds!

    Samantha, continue courageously and confidently to dive into each today, desiring to honor God attentively,and you’ll discover that every today and every tomorrow has both temporal and eternal worth!

    May almighty God continue to bless you abundantly with His gracious love.

  5. March 27, 2010 11:13 pm

    Babe,

    I think you should dive in and get started!

    Are you ready?

    Set?

    JUMP!

    I love you.

    Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

