Skip to content

Books, Blogs, or Both?

March 3, 2010

Over the past few years, I’ve started reading a lot of blogs. I read blogs more than actual magazines or ezines. In the season of life being a wife, mommy of a toddler, and working part-time, I’m having a harder time finishing books. I managed to sneak in Chapter 1 of  Chris Tomlinson’s book, Crave, a few weeks ago and now I’m waiting for the next moment to get to Chapter 2. I absolutely love curling up in a chair with a blanket, opening the clean, crisp pages of a book and allowing my heart to soak up every single word.

I’ve heard it said that you are the same person today as you will be in five years from now, except for the books you read and the people you meet.

I believe that and I’d have to add God’s word in there. Nothing can replace a good book or even more so a book that’s been inspired by God. I have a long list of books that have transformed my thinking and helped make me a better person. My dream is to write a book of my own one day.

What I appreciate about blogs is the ability to access bits of content right away, interact with the writer and other readers, and keep in touch with what some of my favorite writers and leaders are doing. I’ve learned a lot about things I probably would never know because of the ability to access so many blogs.

I don’t think I’d ever say I love blogs more than books, but I definitely appreciate them in my life right now.

What about you- Do you read blogs more than you do books or have a little mix of both? What do you love about them?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 1:09 pm

    I love both, but I find myself reading books less (except those required by school) and reading blogs more. I’m at a computer all day long, and it’s easier to flip to a blog for a quick break than it is to pull out my book (& less conspicuous, too).

    Also, i know this next comment is not the focus of your post, but I want to throw my 2 cents in…I really pray that I am NOT the same person today as I will be in five years from now. As a Christian, my goal is to constantly be changing (allowing God to change me) so that I look more like Him. If I’m the same person in 5 yrs from now, then I’ve not let God work in any way in my life…just a thought.

  2. March 3, 2010 2:15 pm

    Lindsey- I hear you on that. I am so thankful that I am not who I once was and that God is sanctifying me as I he does to all who believe in him. I think it’s good for all of us to examine how we’re letting God work in us.

    I remember not being able to read much for pleasure when I was in seminary- always in the books. Thanks for the comment. It’s good to know what others are reading.

  3. March 3, 2010 4:04 pm

    i love blogs for so many reasons, but also, there are so many shortfalls to it too. But when the writers are authentic, and you’re authentic, and you take time to meet, support and encourage those who become true blog-friends, they just become friends. just as wonderful as anyone in your daily circle. And that’s basically amazing!

    i have set times in the day for blog-reading, and actual book reading- it’s a personal goal to read some of one, actual, non- Bible study related book a day. some days, i read much more than others!! 🙂

    Megan

  4. March 4, 2010 1:33 am

    Books, for sure!

    I get what you’re saying about blogs. They offer quick info and interaction and I do read a few regularly but there’s just nothing like feeling a book in your hands, the sounds of the pages as they turn, the smell of the ones that have been borrowed from the library and the satisfaction and insight gained from reading one cover to cover!

    I think I’ll always be a book girl!

  5. March 4, 2010 3:30 am

    Well actually I am new to the “blogging” thing. I mean, I participated in Myspace and Xanga when those were “cool” but those were mainly spastic rantings of high school kids, (I’m guilty also)

    I actually found your post while looking for other bloggers with my interest: reading.

    I am an avid reader and every time I so much as see a book lying on a shelf somewhere I HAVE to pick it up and finger through. It is a small pleasure I get out of life, knowing that I can always curl up and get lost in a book somewhere. I think the Lord gave me a passion for two great arts. Music and fine literature. I take both of them to heart and I believe I will take them to the grave with me. Wow getting carried away (sorry about that)

    Anyways, as to the question “books or blogs”, I have found myself scanning blogs these past few days and reading the ones that look interesting, however, I will always be a book girl and I’m sticking to it! 🙂

  6. March 4, 2010 9:00 am

    I def. appreciate the “authentic community” I find on blogs. That’s a goal I have for mine. It’s not all about me and what I’m doing- but is about us as a community of faith.

    Megan- I need to pick up on some of your habits. Seriously. I need to better prioritize my day with book reading. Thanks for the encouragement. Rhonda- don’t get me started on the smell of the library- I love it! My dream one day (and my husband knows this) is that I want a library/office of my own with a step ladder to all my books- overlooking nature and a lake of course. He’s working on it.

    Sarah- it’s great to meet you. Thanks for stepping in on the conversation. So neat to see the passions God has given you. Welcome to this crazy blogging world. I hope you find some blogs you like through the readers here.

    There’s a lot being said about the future of publishing. I follow CEO of Thomas Nelson, Michael Hyatt’s blog and he regularly posts about the status of publishing. In 10 years from now, I think it will look a bit different. I would never ever want to think that books would ever disappear, but some argue that they may for several reasons. Here’s a good post on it: http://michaelhyatt.com/2009/12/the-end-of-book-publishing-as-we-know-it.html

    Regardless, it’s official that. We. Are. Book. Fanatics.

  7. March 4, 2010 5:27 pm

    I read both, enjoy both, and have waaaaaaay too many books to catch up on while simultaneously adding to the book pile. I haven’t had the guts to stack all the unread books I have from floor to ceiling, although if I did, I’d be pretty close to the ceiling. Recent reads include stuff by Thomas A Kempis, Charles Spurgeon, Matthew Paul Turner, and Francis Chan.

    And…I’m finding that I pick up books recommended on blogs!

  8. March 4, 2010 8:31 pm

    thanks! 🙂 mm if only i had that dream library also. it would be amazing. a new book every day to choose from. I love the part in beauty and the beast where he gives her the whole library, i want to be belle in that instant and rummage through every book.

    I really hope I can find some neat blogs and some people to talk to through them. sometimes i feel lonely in my world of books and its nice to know there are people out there like me 🙂

  9. March 9, 2010 11:41 am

    I’ve only been blogging for a year (something I said I would never do), and during that time I have read a lot of blogs. But, books are still my preferred reading. Book reading did cut down last year because of blog reading, but I am already reversing that this year to spend more time with quality books.

    Also, since I published a book last year, I have a vested interested in seeing that book reading never becomes a thing of the past!

    (Note: let me know if you would be interested in receiving a complimentary copy. The book is entitled “Roaring Lions, Cracking Rocks, and other Gems from Proverbs.” You can read a recent blog review here: http://thoughtsthatmove.blogspot.com/2010/02/roaring-lions-cracking-rocksby-warren.html)

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

