Skip to content

Being on Mission with Your Children- Part 1

February 8, 2010

This is part one of a two-part series called “Being on Mission with Your Children.” Part one will consist of being a Mommy on Mission and part two will deal with being a Daddy on Mission. I encourage you to read both parts.

Kelly Sauer‘s Twitter bio caught my attention the other day. It read: I dream big and change diapers.

I just love that and it made me think of a little mission statement that’s been ringing in my head since I’ve been re-reading a book I had to read for my Child Developmental Psychology class in college called The Power of Mother Love.

My new-found mission is: I want to change the world, one diaper at a time.

To tell you the truth, however, I didn’t know this would be my desire until God gave me my son John.

I’m learning that he is my mission. He is 15 months old so of course he doesn’t know it yet, but how I give my love away to him now will profoundly influence and shape his life and character and ultimately, who he will become one day.

Many of you know that I’m fresh into being a mommy so I’m not a pro, but I’ve found a little secret that’s helping me to be “on mission” with him each day and to value, above anything else, the importance of who I am to my child.

This might seem way too obvious, but it starts with Slowing Down.

It requires a lot of intentionality on my part to see the world how John is seeing it, to get off my computer or i-Phone, to stop doing the dishes or the laundry, or worrying about this or that, but to really be all there with him. He invites me in to his world every time and his world is already at a much slower pace than mine. The choice is if I will choose to be still, within my own spirit, and embrace his world with him.

I’ve found that when I’m still and engage with him, I’m able to meet his deepest emotional needs by letting him know I hear his words and see each little step he makes. We’re able to capture moments together like when he first says “t-e-n-k you” or learns how to eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on his own. Or when he’s offering to kiss me on the cheek or give me “that look” when he needs something. I can sense his needs easier and I’m there to nurture him whenever he needs it. And he always has a way of knowing whether I’m fully there or not.

My love is more available when I slow down.

Being on Mission as Mommy’s starts with slowing down, to where we are meeting our children’s deepest emotional needs, but that is not the end, it’s the means to the end where we’re slowing down so that we can best live out our faith and instill biblical truth into their lives.

In a hectic, over-worked, disorganized schedule it’s difficult to be all there and live out our faith in front of our children. Nine times out of ten, over commitment results in frustration, anger, restlessness, impatience, depleting quiet times and prayer and we end up not being who we want to be. I’ve been there and it has affected my home. I’m convinced that the tiniest moments of slowing down will help define the huge moments of how our children will grow and come to salvation in the Lord later on.

Of course, their salvation is an act only by God, but we have a huge part to play in how they view and love God for the rest of their lives. What a challenge and responsibility, but what a joy and privilege to help lead them to the cross and have them join us in God’s mission.

If you’re a mommy, and like me, have been wondering where your ministry is and how you can best serve God, remember that you are on mission right where you are, the best place you could ever be…

In your home.

The place where you were meant to help change the world, one diaper at a time.

Will you join me in this mission?

Question: What are some other ways you’re giving your love away and being “on mission” in your home?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 11:17 am

    i love this- i so love when another mother is right there on the trail with me, taking it day by day with vision in her heart!

    a great book- the mission of motherhood by sally clarkson

  2. February 8, 2010 11:43 am

    Thanks Megan. Yes, we’re definitely running the trail together.

    Proverbs 29:18: “Where there is no vision, the people perish.”

    I will have to get my hands on that book.

  3. Kristie Randolph permalink
    February 8, 2010 12:28 pm

    Great post, Samantha. Our pastor always says when you train up children, you are shooting arrows into the future that will be used of God to advance his kingdom. Raising children is an incredibly important work, well worthy to be called a mission!

  4. February 8, 2010 1:14 pm

    “My love is more available when I slow down.”

    That’s true for me too. I lost sight of my mission over the fall and really had to re-purpose myself to raising my children instead of just surviving with them. I’d become discouraged. I read “A Mother’s Heart” by Jean Fleming (for the second time) and realized again how much effort I must make as a mother. And slowing down is one such effort. Sounds easy, but not so much for me. Great post.

  5. February 8, 2010 2:13 pm

    So true Samantha! Thank you for the encouragement & challenge. It is so refreshing knowing that there are other mother’s feeling the same way as I. I am naturally a “doer” so it is very hard for me to slow down.

  6. February 8, 2010 2:39 pm

    It’s definitely not an easy task. I use to wonder if my “slowing down” issues had to do with living in a big city, but now I think it’s just a matter of the heart.

    Thanks for all of you ladies’ encouragement to me!

  7. February 8, 2010 2:47 pm

    Awesome post!

    I do believe this idea of slowing down is an equal challenge for both mothers and fathers. We are only on our first child too and I can tell you the last (almost 2 years) have required the “slow down” a lot. Our world with our daughter can be a painfully frustrating one. If we don’t take the time to slow down we will miss it. We made a decision to live each day with her to the fullest. Even if that means Mickey Mouse Club House for a few hours because she wants to see the fish or dog or show us the flower on the screen etc…

    Being on mission in our home, takes places when Lauren is awake and when she is asleep. It’s the diaper changes and books she likes to read. It’s the moments of discovery, the moments of anguish. So much happens in her little life some of it she is aware of and some of it not, we are actually thankful for that.

    Looking forward to part 2!

    (Hope you don’t mind the “daddy” making a comment…)

    • February 9, 2010 10:13 am

      I was hoping we’d get a Daddy response. Thanks Dan.

      I appreciate those examples you gave with the Mickey Mouse Club House- a great challenge. I think we do have to get to the point where it’s okay if we take 2 hours out of our day to do nothing but play with them- I mean, really what’s 2 hours? We’ve also made the decision to live each day to the fullest, as best as we can of course even in our imperfection.

      It’s so true that even in the frustration and joy, it’s all worth it and we’re on mission when they’re awake and when they sleep. Love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Being on Mission with Your Children- Part 2 « samanthakrieger.com

Leave a Reply

