Skip to content

Why Haiti hasn’t escaped my mind

January 19, 2010


I sometimes wonder if I’m the only one feeling this certain tension.

Since the day we were awakened by the tragic news of Haiti, my heart has been burdened by its devastating horror, the countless babies, children, and people in distress, what our nation needs to offer in terms of aid, and what my family and friends can do to help. But it’s also been filled with something else.

If “Haiti”- all hell breaking loose, suffering, pain, and the deepest agonies ever imaginable, were to enter my life here in America, would I still trust God?

I have never known suffering like the Haitian people are experiencing at this moment. I want to trust that God is good all the time, but sometimes I just really fear suffering. I’d rather put my security in comfort.

Oh, but is that really all there is?

There is T E N S I O N because I know that as a follower of Christ, it won’t always be an easy road. I’m figuring that out as the hands on the clock get faster. I think we have to come to the point in our relationship with Christ that we will love him, trust him, serve him, and surrender to him regardless if we experience his blessings or not.

I don’t know if I can say that I’m there right now, but I want to be. And while I question God and wonder what in the world He’s doing at times (especially right now), I have to lean in on the truth that He is a good God and is worthy of my life in times of suffering and in times of joy.

He’s got the whole world in his hands, even Haiti.

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth! – Psalm 46:10

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 1:01 pm

    Thanks for this post, Samantha. You hit on what I think many Christians here in the U.S. are struggling with – I know I have. Could I truly find joy in Christ in the midst of extreme suffering? I pray that I can.

  2. January 19, 2010 1:15 pm

    Andy- thank you. It’s good to know that there are other Christians out there with this tension. Yes- I pray that we all could as well. By the way, I read some of your recent posts on Haiti as well- good stuff!

  3. January 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    Great post Samantha. These are some powerful thoughts. I have written about trusting God during tragedy, but it certainly would be much more difficult if the horrors of Haiti were a reality in America. My only hope is that God is the one who gives us the faith to trust Him. It’s definitely something we should all stop and think about.

  4. January 19, 2010 5:16 pm

    I am so glad that He knows what we have need of before we have need of it. Trusting His work and His timing in our lives when we see others suffer is so hard. Sometimes I wish I could be the one experiencing the pain, but I know from what pain He has brought me through that they would not gain Him in the way I have gained Him through my own suffering.

    Be still… Yes. I ought to remember this once a day. My kids should too. 😉

    I just wanted to stop in and see you and thank you for your kind words about my blog today. I am so thankful you find it refreshing. I have looked for refreshing before, and I know what it is to discover it. Thank you for your voice in my world today!

    • January 20, 2010 8:22 am

      Thank you for those words, Kelly. And I am really glad I found your blog yesterday. It’s so neat how God can use the different blogs out there to really impact people’s lives and to show who He is. Have a great day!

  5. January 20, 2010 12:06 am

    I LOVE 2 Corinthians 4 where it says, “for this slight momentary affliction” and he’s not just talking about a petty annoyance. He’s talking about suffering. Yet, he refers to it as slight and momentary. It’s so hard to wrap our heads around those words when we think of what’s going on in Haiti. But then comes the hope! “For this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison!”
    Oh the joy that comes when I read those words. And to think that this present suffering, the groaning of this earth, is so that when we see glory it will mean something! It will be glorious beyond all comparison!
    But so often instead of embracing our suffering and seeing it for what it really is we try to avoid it. We go into comfort management mode. No one says it better than C.S. Lewis when he said, “We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and lust and ambition when infinate joy is offered to us, like an ignorant child who wants to keep on making mud-pie in the slums because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a vacation at the beach.”

    • January 20, 2010 8:25 am

      Rhonda, I always appreciate your focus. It’s obvious you’re a woman of the Word and it’s awesome. Love what you said about “comfort management mode.” how true.

      How would you ever know that quote from C.S. Lewis is one of my all time favorites ever?! I love the word pictures of “mud-pies in the slums” and “vacations at the beach.”

      Oh have I been there and would much rather prefer the latter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

