Skip to content

To Twitter, or Not to Twitter?

December 3, 2009

That is my question for today friends.

I know, I know. I’m probably the last person that’s not joined Twitter. Or maybe not. (I still know quite a few people who haven’t!)

But, for the past few months, I’ve been thinking about taking the plunge to share tweets about my blog posts, where I’ve written new articles, what’s going on at Rightnow and Bluefish, inspirational thoughts, God thoughts, and other fun, completely random stuff.

I think I’d like joining Twitter for a lot of reasons regarding some of my hopes and dreams as a writer and more importantly to connect with you (my readers).

BUT, I fear the whole addiction thing and really whether it’s necessary for me personally or not. A while back, I told the facebook world that I’d never get on the Twitter bandwagon. (I have this issue with not wanting to do things because everyone else is). Besides, who needs facebook and Twitter?

The reality though might be that I have to get over my hesitations because I know it’s an awesome, powerful tool to connect lots of people and information. I also really enjoy seeing the tweets on some of your blogs.

I know… you still can’t believe I’m not on it yet.

What about you?

Are you on Twitter? What do you like about it?

I can’t wait to hear.


18 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:42 am

    I’ve not joined the twitter bandwagon. For me, personally, it would be a distraction. (Having my RSS feeds in Google Reader is bad enough.) ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I do read the twitter updates that show up on blog pages. Sometimes. So for me, it doesn’t really matter either way.

  2. December 3, 2009 11:26 am

    How many RSS feeds do you have? LOL. I have a few that go into my work email that are related to small groups, small group ministry, etc. and it’s amazing what other news I learn about through those (def. can be distracting). I actually found out about the movie The Blind Side through a feed and it inspired me to go see it.

    It’s amazing the information we have access to, right in our lap.

    Yeah, I like the twit updates on blogs because it’s like I can see everything all at once.

    Thanks for your input Anna!

  3. andyblanks permalink
    December 3, 2009 11:30 am

    Do it, Samatha. Take the plunge.

    But remember, all things in moderation.

    Think before you post: Does the world really need to know what you had for breakfast?

    Inform, challenge, and retweet those who do the same.

    (Oh, and by all means, use it to build up your brand, i.e., your blog, RightNow, and the Fish.)

  4. December 3, 2009 1:01 pm

    Thanks Andy. I’ll let you know what I decide!

    I like your wisdom there.

  5. December 3, 2009 1:34 pm

    Samantha, I think Andy Blanks nailed it. I’ve been doing it awhile, and I like it mainly for what I learn from other notable church leaders, or sharing what I’ve learned. On a few occasions, I’ve even tweeted our pastor’s sermons…during the sermon. Definitely point the way to your blog posts/articles etc.! That’s what I did with my SG Trader article! And if you do take the plunge, I’m at http://twitter.com/andylie

  6. December 3, 2009 1:35 pm

    Oops. 1st link didn’t work. Check that: http://twitter.com/andylie

  7. December 3, 2009 3:05 pm

    Sweet. We have two Andy’s here. haha. That’s good to know what you enjoy tweeting about. Thanks for giving your feedback.

    Thanks for the link too.

  8. December 3, 2009 9:16 pm

    I too, swore that I’d not join Twitter, then my husband got me into it. I didn’t want to join because I figured my online life was cluttered enough. At first I didn’t care for Twitter that much when I joined, but now I like it better than Facebook. I like that it’s more streamlined than Facebook. I use TweetDeck, which filters all my Twitter and Facebook statuses through it, and I can respond to them through there. That way I don’t even actually have to get on the Twitter or Facebook sites, which helps me not get “addicted.” Also, I have my Twitter and Facebook account linked, so when I post a status it goes to both, which also saves time. Let us know when you join!

    • December 4, 2009 10:41 am

      Thanks Danielle. That’s really good to know. I’m all about keeping my online life uncluttered too! Tweetdeck sounds great. I think I’d really like that not having to get on the site.

      I really appreciate your feedback. My husband I just merged our facebook accounts so we’ve tried to simplify there so I think Twitter could be doable. I’ll definitely let you know when I join. Right now, I’m definitely leaning towards it.

  9. December 3, 2009 9:45 pm

    I like Twitter more than Facebook, actually. I like it because:

    1. It’s built me a really bizarre network of people (It’s very peculiar to have a bunch of pastors following me)
    2. Every once in a while something makes me laugh really hard
    3. Lots of people are pushing out links to great content that I wouldn’t find otherwise

    You should join. It is fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    • December 4, 2009 10:43 am

      Aaron- Thanks for those three points! Very persuasive. Maybe you should blog about it!

      You must be doing something right if you have a flock of pastors following you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • December 4, 2009 2:12 pm

        See there you go giving me ideas. Now I might actually have to do that.

  10. December 4, 2009 3:45 pm

    Hey Sam:

    I never thought I’d join Twitter either, but ever since I have, I can tell you that I’ve had a significant increase to the travel to my website and blog.

    And also, I really enjoy the micro-blogging aspect of it.

    I think some people take it to the extreme (like what andyblanks was saying), telling what they had for breakfast, but I think it is a good tool that can be utilized in a good way to help you.

    Just my thoughts! ๐Ÿ™‚

    You can check out my twitter page here: http://twitter.com/truckeya

    • December 4, 2009 5:55 pm

      No, no no no, no no nooooooo NO! Don’t do it! You know that the second you join you have committed at least 10 minutes of each day away. Do you have 10 minutes to spare?
      That said, I still haven’t joined Facebook for the same reason.

      • December 5, 2009 10:09 pm

        Rhonda,

        Do you keep up with people mainly by email and blogging? That’s amazing that you haven’t joined facebook. Wow. I know just two other girlfriends of mine who haven’t and that’s it. Good for you!

        I have to say I enjoy Facebook a lot… but even more now that I’ve merged accounts with my husband. I limit my time on it though.

        I’m sure in a few years something better will be out there and facebook will be another memory… hard to imagine that in the mean time though.

  11. December 5, 2009 10:05 pm

    Wow thanks everyone for your comments and input. I really value it. It’s a tough thing because I really don’t have a whole lot of time to spare (just like many of you) so that is one of my issues. But, I think I could handle it if done in moderation.

    I’ll let you know what happens. In the mean time, you can find me here ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. December 7, 2009 7:56 pm

    I’m late to the party. But I thought I’d share anyway =).

    I was anti-Twitter for a while and was asked by my publisher to start. So I did. And I’ve loved it. There are dangers to it (finding your worth in stats, seeking the approval of others rather than God) but benefits as well (connections you would not have otherwise, a larger worldview, access to other great minds and hearts).

    Whenever I tweet or blog, I try to keep these two quotes from John Piper in mind:

    1. When asked what should be told to a roomful of Christian bloggers, he said, “Tell them that it takes relentless intentionality to keep a Christ-exalting blog from become a clever blog. The temptation to entertain is almost irresistible.”

    2. “One of the great uses of Twitter and Facebook will be to prove at the Last Day that prayerlessness was not from lack of time.”

    All things exist for His glory, even Twitter.

  13. December 7, 2009 9:26 pm

    It’s never too late! Thanks for being real about the dangers and benefits. I appreciate that kind of honesty.

    John Piper is full of wisdom from the Lord. I love it. I am definitely going to keep those points in mind in what I’m doing presently. Thanks for sharing that Chris.

Leave a Reply

