Skip to content

Not by coincidence

November 18, 2009

Every day, we’re given a blank page to write- another page in God’s story.

Today is a day that He’s given you and I to live for his glory and his kingdom. Yet how often do we forget that the circle’s he’s put us in are exactly where we’re supposed to be to shine his light?

I was just thinking the other day how the nursery care worker at my gym that we see regularly is not by accident. The grocery baggers at Kroger that we see every week isn’t by chance. The people I live near and the certain friendships I have are a part of God’s plan. And it doesn’t just happen to be that it’s the year 2009 and my family and I live in the city of Dallas, Texas.

Many times, I ask God to bring the people he wants into my life so I can share his love and grace. But I forget that often, they’ve been planted right in my midst- in the every day places.

Even in the tiniest details of life, nothing is an accident.

It takes hard work to be aware of this every day and it’s amazing that God chooses us to be the vessel to help grow God’s kingdom here on earth.

Was there a time when you knew that something was not “by accident” but was a part of the story God is writing?


8 Comments leave one →
  1. Dawn permalink
    November 18, 2009 5:48 pm

    Nice insight. It’s amazing how different our backgrounds are, it shapes who you are, but truth is still truth regardless. I also read the one before and after and enjoyed the one about Image…it’s so true. I often feel like I’ve done God a huge injustice with all that He’s asked me to do with His gifts and passions. I don’t worry about pride in succeeding, (glory always goes to God). I worry about failing God if I don’t try. He’s asked a lot of me and given me a lot in gifts and experiences.

    On your writing, I think writing from what you know is hugely important and I would encourage you to start considering yourself a ‘reporter’ of sorts. In this I mean going out into the world and finding out about other people, be in the office or across the ocean. Your experience with your new friend that you’re mentoring seems to have sparked a great thing in you. I wonder what would happen should you befriend and examine the lives of those the least like you and report back through your writing? I think it would be a neat thing to see.

  2. November 20, 2009 12:12 pm

    The Lord has been convicting me on this subject lately as well. More than I like to admit, I’m guilty of ignoring His answers, labeling them “just me.” I say a huge, unqualified, resounding “yes and amen” to this post.

    Blessings!

  3. andyblanks permalink
    November 20, 2009 2:14 pm

    Similar thoughts have been on my mind lately. Thank you for articulating them so nicely.

    • November 22, 2009 8:43 pm

      Thanks Andy. It’s neat to hear how we’re all on a similar wavelength! God Bless.

  4. November 26, 2009 11:48 pm

    I distinctly remember the moment when I learned a lesson along these lines. It was a normal day. A drop the kids off at school, run a few errands, clean the house sort of day. Nothing special. But nothing not great. It just was.

    I was happily (quite cheerfully even – or so I like to think!) going about my day when I popped into the grocery store for just a few items that our household was in need of. I got to the checkout and placed my things on the counter. Ketchup. Milk. I don’t think I can go to the grocery store withOUT getting milk. Salt. Raspberry Vinegar. Apples.

    So far so good, right? The store clerk greeted me well enough and we exchanged the usual pleasantries through the ketchup and salt. The milk. No, I didn’t need it in a bag. All was going quite well until we got to the apples. Oh, the apples. I don’t think I’m exaggerating to say that she dragged the apples across the counter and, it seemed to me, purposefully lifted them quite high just so she could drop them heavily down onto the scale. I nearly gasped. This was produce, dear woman. Produce! Highly bruisable yumminess! After weighing them she again heaved them up only to catapault them down, down, down into the grocery bag. Boom. Bash. Crash!!!

    I couldn’t contain myself. I was fuming. I was paying for those red lovelies and I certainly didn’t want to get them home all battered. I very curtly looked up and said, “Excuse me. Would you please be careful with my groceries. I picked out the good apples and I would be very pleased if I got them home that way. Although, it may already be too late!”
    All the way to my vehicle I was fuming. That apple bagger lady was the most horrible person in my mind at that moment. It wasn’t until 3 days later when I was standing in the lobby of our church that it struck me like an apple falling from the sky and hitting me smack on the noggin. How would I act if that apple lady walked into my church right now? Would I be pleased to see her and greet her warmly like I did the other people coming in the door? No way! I would have avoided her at all cost because my sin was so very clear.
    I had not treated her well at the store. I had not been an ambassador of Christ’s love. I had shown her that I was a selfish woman, entitled to perfect apples even at the expense of peoples feelings.

    It was at that moment I realized that God brings specific people into my life right when I need them!

  5. November 27, 2009 8:24 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing that story Rhonda. I could picture the whole thing in my mind.

    It’s amazing the things we do when we’re in our flesh. I’ve had many times in the grocery line check out when I’ve been impatient and that same selfish woman.

    BUT, I actually had a moment two days ago- the evening before Thanksgiving (at the check-out line)- where I knew it wasn’t coincidence. I was able to be an ambassador of Christ and it was awesome. I’m so thankful God is so gracious. I think I’m going to do a post on it too!

    Thanks for sharing your heart.

Trackbacks

  1. The woman formerly known as ‘the apple bagger lady’. « Never Static

Leave a Reply

