Skip to content

Jesus is Better than Comfort

November 16, 2009

I’ve been asking God a few times today why he chooses to work through trials and why trials make us depend on Him.

I’ve been learning a lot lately about my own comfort levels. And I can’t believe how much I love them. I love a well stocked savings account, a beautifully decorated home, a consistent bed-time, an overflowing pantry and refrigerator, friends that love me, Christmas songs that remind me of childhood and hug my soul, a warm black tea latte, job security, babies that don’t cry, a well-heated car, and the list goes on…

But is that alone what God calls me to?

Yes and No.

He has made all those things. He wants me to enjoy them and to enjoy this life to its fullest. That’s evident all over the book of Ecclesiastes. But, he doesn’t promiseĀ  that I’ll be comfortable all the time or exempt from trials. And he never said that comfort draws me closer to him.

Suffering and trials do.

Oh, but I don’t want them when they come. It’s so difficult to live by faith!

But I’m learning, in all my imperfections, that it’s not so much about the trial, but about loving and knowing him because He is better than all the comforts the world has to offer. He is the one who fills my soul and deepest longings. And He is all I will have when this life is over, not all the things I try to hold onto.

Well… I guess that’s His answer to my questions. Now it’s time to trust him in this trial!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 8:53 pm

    I find it amazing that even while God consistently proves His faithfulness, we still doubt and struggle during the storms of life. Spiritual myopia blinds us from having clarity to see and enjoy the longer lasting and enduring fruitfulness brought about by discipline and suffering. So my encouragement is to do your best to look beyond the temporary frustrations and fears that come our way.

  2. November 16, 2009 9:01 pm

    Thanks babe. You have already encouraged me. You are so much stronger than me! I can’t wait until one day where there won’t be anymore doubt and struggle in the storms. Great hope lies ahead.

  3. November 18, 2009 6:20 pm

    What a great post, Samantha! Reminds me of a quote I’ve been meditating on lately from “My Utmost for His Highest,” which says: “Have [I] come to a place where God can withdraw His blessings and it does not affect [my] trust in Him.” That really is THE question, isn’t it? And hopefully each day I am closer to that place.

  4. November 18, 2009 8:26 pm

    Thanks, Danielle. I read Oswald every day when I was in college. His devotional always has a way of speaking to me, no matter what day it is.

    That is such a powerful quote as it shoots straight to the heart. We often want his blessings, but not him alone. And little do we know that seeking him in itself, is the greatest blessing and reward in the world.

    I can’t say I’m there, but my prayer is that I will get closer and closer as well!

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  5. November 24, 2009 5:46 pm

    Amen. Embracing Jesus means embracing both blessing and loss for the sake of His glory and our joy. A love of comfort will destroy this embrace.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts–very encouraging!

  6. November 26, 2009 11:59 pm

    Sometimes the things we know in our heads don’t translate into our hearts. You KNOW trials are good for you. But of course in the midst of them you’d do anything to avoid them.
    You’ll get through. He’ll get you through. It may look different than you thought/hoped/wished but you know His plan is best. Even if your heart isn’t getting that right now. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

