Skip to content

Give me Prudence

July 15, 2009

1199870_old_style_doryJeremiah and I are facing some pretty important decisions that could impact us financially, relationally, spiritually, and our overall sanity. We were encouraged this morning to hear a leadership podcast from Andy Stanley on decisions and being men and women who are prudent.

We were reflecting on the last three years of marriage and the choices we’ve made that have gotten us where we are today. Some good and some bad. Now, we’ve reached a point where we see potential dangers.  These “dangers” might not necessarily be what you’d think as serious but in the long run, they could very well be. They have to do with allowing margin into our life, making wise financial decisions, putting family time as priority, and choosing to deal with some of our hurts, habits, and hangups that could eventually snowball in the future.

Andy makes the point that many people say, “Oh yeah I need to do that or I should do that.” But when it comes to action, stepping out of the boat never happens. So 10 years later, they can’t believe how they got to where they are. This could involve not getting into God’s word, an unhealthy relationship, a negative habit/pattern, an affair, addiction, our health and well being, entertaining sinful thoughts. The list goes on.

Well, back to this word PRUDENCE. Proverbs, the book in the Bible drenched with wisdom and brutal honesty, says: A prudent man sees danger and takes refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it (Prov. 22:3). Prudence is exercising sound judgment in practical affairs. It’s the ability to have wisdom looking into the future so you can make a good choice for today. It can also involve caution and not taking too huge of a risk. I love the word refuge– it’s an umbrella of protection. Someone, however, who is “simple” and makes rash decisions without counting the cost, could end up in a bed of suffering without even realizing it. And the consequences could be overwhelming. That’s why God has given us prudence to protect us and because he loves us.

I really want to become a woman who’s prudent. Sometimes it’s so difficult when I’m in the midst of a situation to see the future implications.  I often wait for a sign or prodding from God, which could definitely happen, but more often that not God gives me principles to help me make a wise decision. And it’s often that I forget that wisdom is in my pocket, waiting for me to dig her out.

Well, hopefully by the end of this week we’ll be able to say that we counted the cost and will have made a choice we won’t regret!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 11:37 pm

    Prudence truly is a gift from God. Thanks for this post, I needed to hear it right now. I need to be more prudent in the small things of daily life so that I’m not screwed in the future. God has been nudging me on this, and this is simply a little firmer push from the Holy Spirit 😉

  2. July 16, 2009 8:22 pm

    Great Post. Prudence is such a powerful concept that is underutilized in our society of “my way, right away”. We want what we want and do not care about the long term effects of our choices. Hopefully, we can take this advice make better choices and reap better results through God’s Wisdom.

  3. July 17, 2009 2:42 pm

    Thank you. It’s good to know others are learning a lot about prudence too. It’s def. my prayer to take the advice, make better choices, and reap better results like you said. It’s a daily reminder and application. I’d love to hear examples of people who were able to look ahead and see danger and then prepare in advance. How that choice was wise and how it affected the course they were on? I’m assuming we can never go wrong with being prudent people 🙂

    • Amy permalink
      July 24, 2009 11:45 pm

      Hi Samantha…great post. I was reading your comment and thought of a recent example of prudence in my life. I am 24 (fixin to be 25) and I’m itching to get married and start a family. However, I know how important it is to wait for God’s best (after watching many women in my family go through divorces). I know that I want to get married one time and that is it! Recently, I had a friend set me up with a guy. This man has every physical quality that I am looking for in a husband. However, after two dates I knew this man was not spirit filled. He says he has accepted Christ, but living for His glory is not his main objective in life. I knew I had a decision to make and I could see how the future would be if I continued with the relationship. I know that a marriage not founded and centered on Christ will not last. He got pretty attached after two dates and I told him that he is not the man I’m going to marry. I could have easily married this man but my life would have changed drastically! It is so much easier for a person of this world to pull a Christian back into a previous state of sin, and so much more difficult for a Christian to pull an unbeliever into the throne room of the Almighty God!
      I wear a bracelet on my left arm that says, “Worth Waiting For.” Anytime I get discouraged or even think about settling for less than what God has for me, I remember that His best is worth waiting for!
      I thank God for prudence and the leading of the Holy Spirit!

      Amy

Trackbacks

  1. From the Archives: Give Me Prudence | Samantha Krieger

Leave a Reply

