Skip to content

Article: Vulnerable & Unashamed

July 3, 2009
courtesy of Ungrind.org


I was reading an article on Ungrind the other day that I’ve fallen in love with. It’s called Vulnerable and Unashamed by Christin Taylor. I was immediately drawn by her writing style, use of metaphors, the pictures she paints with words, and her authenticity.

Many of us have experienced moving to different cities, finding new friendships, and the whirlwind adjustments that go with that. Some of us struggle to allow other women into our souls for the fear of being wounded, rejected, or just “known.” We’d rather let them skim the surface. But God didn’t create us for shallow women friendships- He wants us to be known into the depths- scars, bruises, insecurities and all.

Here are a few sneak peaks into Christin’s article:

Movies and love songs croon about a desire to be seen and accepted by the men in our lives, but here is a deep down truth, a hidden knowing: husbands, boyfriends, and babies cannot satisfy the extents of our relational needs. Women’s hearts are vast and we need the love, the friendship, the intimacy of other women.

I’ve been so busy trying to keep myself from the pain of making new friends, the pain of loosing old ones that I’ve neglected to see the power of that pain. Maybe I’m supposed to let these relationships peel away the dead skin on my heart. Perhaps I’ve gotten too comfortable, been too self-absorbed, and the burn of vulnerability does a scrubbing work on my soul. I go in tan, I come out bright pink.

In order to engage in the intimacy of women friendships it means letting each other close to the fleshy part of our hearts, and that means sometimes getting snagged.

Check it out on Ungrind!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 10:28 pm

    Samantha, thank you so much for your kind words and for the plug! I’m really enjoying discovering your blog as well!

    Blessings,
    Christin

  2. Charity Johnson permalink
    July 8, 2009 1:09 am

    Sam- I can’t begin to tell you how glad I am that took the naptime opportunity to read the article you referenced on Ungrind. I am tempted to print it out and use it to remind myself to venture into relationships. I have found myself struggling with that particular issue since moving back “home” here 2 years ago. You would think that moving back where you’re from would not pose the same vulnerability issues, but having lived away for so long I found that my old friends were “new” to me again. I definitely needed this reminder to rub shoulders with other women, moms, mentors to help remove that old skin that I’ve accumulated. Thank you!

  3. July 8, 2009 1:10 am

    I love hearing how much you’ve enjoyed this article, Samantha. When Christin sent it to me, I found myself resonating strongly with it also.

    On Ungrind in September we are giving away two copies of a book called “The Friends We Keep” by Sarah Zacharias Davis (published by WaterBrook). It touches on some of the same issues that Christin’s article does. I think you’ll really like it too. I find myself challenged, encouraged, and provoked by it. So be sure to enter!

Leave a Reply

