Skip to content

Save, Save, Save

March 9, 2009

samanthakrieger.com

376-savings-jarI was in conversation with a girl my age this weekend about finances and the economy (as it seems to be the hotbutton of late!). I shared with her some of the research I had been doing about where certain people think we’re headed as a nation. I proceeded to say how much my family and I are really trying to save, save, save.

She looked at me in disgust: “Save? I’m not saving. I work hard. I’m going to spend what I want, when I want. As long as I’m being responsible, I’ll be fine. Who needs a savings account?”

Her expression and gestures kind of made me laugh under my breath. She didn’t care at all about what was going on in our economy. I am wondering if she’s even watching the news. But then I began to think more about her response and the fact I have had the same attitude before. In fact, growing up with a father who was extremely successful and not having to worry about finances, early on in our marriage I would spend like I was still under my dad’s roof. It was scary. My credit card proved it. So in essence I lived out her words in some way, shape or form.

But now things have changed. My whole mindset is radically different. While I’m still far from perfect, I really value saving more and spending less. Last year around this time, we were about $40,000 in debt. Thanks to the help of Dave Ramsey, we’re now $10,000 in debt with just a small student loan left and Jeremiah’s car. We’re so thankful that our mindset and behavior has changed. I know we can all admit as Americans that we love living above our means. I mean, who doesn’t love it? But the  better way is to be wise and to be content with what we have. I wish it was easier done than said.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 1:00 pm

    Great post! Keep up the good work! Keep spreading the good news about staying away from debt!

  2. March 10, 2009 1:07 pm

    I’m so proud of you and Jeremiah! It’s so amazing to me to see where you’ve come from, especially from when I first met you. As well, thanks to you two Josh and I are on our way to being debt free – so thank you for being an example and referring us to Dave Ramsey.

  3. March 11, 2009 2:51 am

    Where we’ve come from is key. It’s crazy to look back and to see how God has really intervened in the whole finance area of our lives. Of course, we still have a long way to go and will never stop learning! Thanks for the comments.

  4. March 13, 2009 8:48 pm

    Central has been doing FPU for the past 7 weeks and it has been amazing! We had right at 1,000 people show up to be involved!

    On a persoanl note, Hollye and I are almost out of debt completely (Thanks to Dave) and we have “enrolled” our kids in the FPU Jr. mentality! If anyone has children, this is a wondeful way to teach them about finances! Our kids love it and so do their parents! Great post!

Leave a Reply

