Skip to content

When We Blow It

May 8, 2008

I go through times when I really blow it. Either I’m angry, selfish, frustrated, impatient, hateful, and just a real jerk. (Am I the only one here with this problem?) In marriage, I see these moments of “blowing it” come out the most because my husband sees every speck of dirt in my life- that others may not see. But he also sees the gems and the moments when I am obedient to God’s Spirit and there is harmony.

It is in these times of screwing up, that I sense God’s unfathomable grace more and more. Grace is something I am only touching the surface of. Why does he love a sinner like me? He came to die on the cross for my sins way before I was born and had the chance to steal candy from the drug store- when I was four years old. He died for the wretchedness that is in me and he now calls me to live for righteousness instead. What a divine rescuing!

The grace He has for all of us when we blow it, is truly a gift and is precious- it really is Amazing Grace. At any time God could pour his wrath out upon us, but he chooses instead to withhold it. He beckons us to come near to Him and choose LIFE…not death. It is always when we look at ourselves and what we can do on our own that we fail. It is when we surrender and give our life to Him that we find our life. These truths are hard to even describe.

Does anyone else resonate with this?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2008 5:40 pm

    Great thoughts… I find myself amazed everyday that God would show grace in spite of my shortcomings – His charachter is truly amazing…

    -cs
    http://chrisschellenberg.com/

  2. May 8, 2008 8:12 pm

    I was throwing a temper tantrum today when I sat down to do my Bible study. I took my book outside to let the warmth reach into my muscles for a deep-tissue massage. One of the questions asked us to list everything we’re thankful for, to let it overflow.
    Well, thankful? In the middle of my tiff? Fine. I’ll write my answers.
    I did. One after another. God’s grace took hold of my temper tantrum and kicked it out the door.

  3. May 9, 2008 3:00 am

    Great point!

    I am still amazed at how much God has forgiven and continues to forgive me of. Sometimes I go back and start re-repenting, but I don’t think this really pleases Him. It’s just so hard to fathom that He is so kind, long-suffering and gracious.

    God’s peace,

    Cindy

  4. Dustin permalink
    May 9, 2008 2:10 pm

    It’s amazing how in those small moments that we think are just about what’s going wrong in our lives are really not even about us. Then in a moment our whole outlook can turn around like the dawning of the sun.

  5. May 9, 2008 4:32 pm

    I seem to think about this all of the time–especially when I do blow it. To think, as well, that I barely understand grace leaves me speechless. I am not sure if I will ever understand to the magnitude what grace really is and how it effects me.

    Great thoughts!

Leave a Reply

