Skip to content

A Surprise Call

May 5, 2008

It’s not everyday that you receive a phone call from one of the most influential evangelical leaders in America.

Brian Mosley, EVP of Bluefish TV production who I work under, posted a home video of his daughter memorizing Psalm 23 on Godtube, Youtube, Bluefish TV, and other viral sites. Now, over 6 million people viewed the video and are sharing it on their blogs and personal websites.

Dr. James Dobson of Focus on the Family has been one of those 6 million people. Dr. Dobson saw Little Girl and Psalm 23 and loved it. He called Brian from Colorado to say he really enjoyed the clip and has shown it to a lot of people. Brian’s daughter got on the phone with Dr. Dobson and they chatted a little. Her main points were that she was four years old and was going to the circus that night.

Brian thought it was really cool that Dr. Dobson took time out of his day to call him and talk to his daughter.

Dr. Dobson is currently working on a book project called Bringing up Girls. The book is set to release in 2009. Dobson’s previous project, Bringing up Boys sold 1 million copies in the first year. See this letter Dr. Dobson has written about his passion as he writes Bringing up Girls along with a teaser chapter.

Dr. Dobson is a man I greatly admire. Growing up, my mom always received his newsletter in the mail, listened to the radio programs, and supported his ministry. She even bought The Strong Willed Child to read because of me. In college, I interned at Focus on the Family’s book publishing department with Brandy Bruce– who has become a dear friend of mine. Brandy is now Associate Editor there in book publishing. 

It is still such a great blessing to be a part of Focus, whether it be through writing for the magazines or being in prayer for what God is doing there in Colorado around the globe.

One of my favorite places when living in Colorado for the summer: garden of the gods

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lisa permalink
    March 13, 2011 4:20 pm

    This is a perfect picture. I am also a photog but I use film…this picture is sooo beautiful!!! Thank you! can you email me a jpeg so I can show my friend David Wood in Colorodo please?

    Thank you,

    LIsa

    • lisa permalink
      March 15, 2011 1:05 am

      I wish you could make this page and image of Garden of Gods simpler to forward. I wanted to send it to my friend…I told him how to do it..
      Also when I get the chance I will read some of your inspiring articles! I am not of Christian faith, (Jesus was Jewish) but the articles look very inspiring…Thank you.

      Also, I believe that Jesus would never have wanted the Christian people to abandon Jewish studies of Torah, observing all Jewish holidays, etc. He would not have wanted you all to form a totally new religion. All Christians should be observing Passover, Chanuka, all of it..Sabbath the whole thing…
      Also he would be aghast at how Christians treated Jews, his people, throughout history…not only would he not have approved, he would have condemned what Christians did to Jews for centuries for millennia. Tolerance for differences was elemental to his teachings…that is, if he lived at all. There is no archeological evidence that he ever lived.

    • March 16, 2011 12:17 pm

      Hi Lisa,
      This post was done several years ago. I unfortunately do not have the image. I am sure you could google “Garden of the Gods” and find some other great ones.

      Thank you for stopping by my blog. I will get back with you on your comment below 🙂

Leave a Reply

