Skip to content

How it feels to be Credit Card Debt free

April 18, 2008

After working out this morning and getting out of the shower, Jeremiah rushes in the bathroom with a beaming smile on his face. “We’re debt free of all our credit cards. I just paid all of it off.” I didn’t know what to say but “oh my goodness this is so awesome. We have to celebrate.”

As a married couple, we’ve never known life without credit cards. It’s just so crazy. And we even have a substantial amount in savings for any emergencies.

Since we’re still being intense about the rest of our debt, we will celebrate, but not go all out (We have about $30,000 to go in car payments and student loans but we’re going to attack it). So today, we went to Chick-fil-a and got a breakfast bagel (which we never eat out for b-fast) and today Jeremiah’s going to bring me lunch at work. We’re really going to celebrate together by thanking God for his grace on our life and for helping us learn more about money.

We’re hoping to take a babymoon soon and perhaps then we’ll celebrate with a vacation. And then maybe after that, a trip to Italy (the place of Jeremiah’s ancestry- Sicily). But right now, we must focus on today. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2008 10:57 am

    Praise the Lord! Consider sharing your excitement on http://www.flickr.com/groups/beatingdebt.

  2. April 19, 2008 8:02 pm

    That’s awesome Samantha. I can’t wait to say that I’m debt free from my credit cards, as well as student loans and whatnot. It’s going to be a great feeling! 🙂 Congrats!

  3. July 4, 2008 3:01 am

    Fantastic job! I found Dave Ramsey and started working on killing off my debt this year. It’ll take some time, but I can’t wait until I am also debt free!! I just paid off another evil credit card last week and have 2 more to go. Then I have to tackle some car and personal loans as well. It’ll take a little while, but we’ll all get there! 🙂 Lord bless you in your guys’ journey as well!

Leave a Reply

