Skip to content

Big Life Changes and a Never-Changing God

November 29, 2011

A few weeks ago, Jeremiah accepted a new position at a well-known hospital where we live. Just a few days into his nursing job, the higher-ups decided to get rid of the entire floor he was working on for budget reasons.

All of the staff including his manager are seeking new jobs, hoping that the recruiters in the hospital can place them on another floor soon.

Of course this came out of nowhere for us. Jeremiah was so excited about his new job and I was happy too. We were excited about the awesome benefits and convenience in him walking to work. Clearly, it was God’s will. How could it not be?

But in an instant, that security vanished like a vapor.

Just before Christmas? Really, God?

I’ve asked him many times.

Not only that, in October, we found out we’re expecting a special little gift at the end of June- our third child to which we are very excited!

A job loss while I’m pregnant? Really, God?

I’ve asked him many times.

And in May, Jeremiah will graduate from seminary and before the summer ends, we will have to move out of seminary housing and know where we are going to live and do ministry.

Where do you want us, Lord?

I’ve asked him many times.

Right now, there have been no clear answers to my questions. But I know it’s not a matter of “if” but “when.”

And even in the midst of my questioning, a sweet, still voice has spoken truth into my heart. Truth that comes straight from His Word, reminding me that He. Is. God. The God of the Universe who created me and loves me and my family deeply.

When life is crazy and ever-changing, there is no shadow of turning with him as the old hymn says. He is constant, yet fully engaged in the details of our lives.

What I am starting to understand more as He takes me through trials is that he is teaching me God-reliance instead of self-reliance.

Way too often, I love to have the control and to tell him my plans. I’m often wrapped up in self instead of what God is doing. I often forget the bigger picture at hand.

God has proven himself in the past and has always been faithful as I wrote about this past summer, I have no reason to doubt him. It would be foolish to not trust Him this time.

So in this Christmas season, my prayer of course is that Jeremiah will have a job again. Soon! But more than that, my prayer is that God will change me and teach me what it means to cling to Him in the good times and the trying times. I want to look more like Him and give him glory no matter what season of life I’m in.

Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” Remember your leaders, who spoke the word of God to you. Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. – Hebrews 13:5-9

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 3:38 pm

    Wow… this is crazy! I’m not sure, but I think it was Mother Theresa that said, “I know that God won’t put more on me than I can handle, I just wish that He didn’t trust me so much.”

    I’ll be praying for you and your family exactly the way you mentioned that you are at the end of the post. Keep your head up… I think you have the right focus!

  2. Sharon O permalink
    November 29, 2011 3:53 pm

    Praying that it all will work together for you all. God is big and He can provide all that you need, just trust and do what you can do be calm.

  3. Val Walton permalink
    November 29, 2011 4:20 pm

    Hey Samantha,

    Know that prayers are being sent up for you and your family here in Birmingham, Al. I am inspired, once again, that you are giving God the glory even through the unknowns.
    I am praying God’s richest blessings to you and your family.

    • November 29, 2011 9:23 pm

      thanks so much Val. I definitely have my moments, but I am trying to trust and hold on! :)

  4. November 29, 2011 4:34 pm

    First of all, congratulations on #3!

    Secondly, this post immediately reminded me of our own unemployment experience–while I was expecting Sophia. I will be praying for you guys. Being unemployed isn’t fun. That said, I never felt more close to Jesus then our three months of unemployment. I’m going to point you to an article I wrote about our experience. I hope it will bolster your faith and the scriptures will be a reminder to God’s personal care.

    It’s here: http://www.ungrind.org/2011/03/cling.html

    • November 29, 2011 9:24 pm

      Danielle- I had read your article then and I’m going to read it again. Thanks so much!

  5. November 29, 2011 10:20 pm

    I am so sorry that something that was supposed to be new and exciting turned into something scary and fearful. I do hope that your husband gets a new position as soon as possible.

    I, like you, have often asked God “when” regarding where He wants my family. I know He will be faithful and do what is best for us … as He will for yours.

  6. Julia Wells permalink
    November 29, 2011 10:46 pm

    Loved your post as usual. Thanks for putting things in perspective! I love you :)

  7. November 29, 2011 11:36 pm

    Loved this article friend. Let’s please grab coffee soon.

  8. November 29, 2011 11:38 pm

    Keep trusting God! He really does have good plans. :) We have experienced a few job transitions (though not lay offs) during pregnancy – I know how unsettling it can be! Congratulations on your new little one on the way. What a sweet blessing! I’ll say a prayer for God to give swift resolution to Jeremiah’s job situation.

  9. November 30, 2011 2:13 am

    Good words, Samantha! Stay strong. Just prayed for you guys and for the health of #3!

  10. November 30, 2011 10:56 am

    Sam, I loved your honesty and transparency in this post. You are awesome, and I’m so glad to know you! Congratulations on baby #3. I know the Lord will work everything out. I’ll keep your family in my prayers.

Trackbacks

  1. Lessons on Receiving « samanthakrieger.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

