Skip to content

A Passion for Marriage

May 6, 2009

sex-was-gods-idea-01Recently, my friend Cheli challenged me with something simple and profound. She said what if I lived my whole life with a passion for my marriage? Just how different would my marriage look?

I haven’t run into too many people who say they want to have a lifelong passion for their marriage. I often hear of a passion for a career, a life-long goal, sport, hobby, or whatever but not necessarily for their marriage. If we were passionate about working hard at our marriage, I bet people would stay together. Any time we have a passion for something, we tend to invest tons of time into that one thing. We can’t go a day with out it. And our life just isn’t complete without.

I’m determined to begin viewing my marriage with more passion. It’s not that I haven’t before but I want to have the mindset that my marriage is the most important thing than anything else right after my relationship with Christ. In the end, I think my son’s life will be most impacted by the kind of relationship I have with my husband, even more than the relationship I have with him. Did I love and respect my husband well? Did I show my son truly how to love another person with passion?

I sure hope so.

What does it look like for you to have a passion for your marriage? If you’re single, what does it look like to start becoming passionate about having the kind of marriage you dream of and working hard towards that?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 5:44 pm

    No doubt about it. It’s an issue of Biblical priorities, really. God first – marriage second (because it displays Christ’s love for mankind to the world). You are on to something HUGE here…

  2. Beaze permalink
    May 6, 2009 5:57 pm

    Really the order should be Marriage 1st. Focus on what’s physically here in front of you. Most christians see it as selfish to put their spouse first, but that’s what the religious leaders want, complete servitude of the pupils in their church.

    Put your spouse first and share the religious experience second and together.

  3. May 6, 2009 6:18 pm

    When I neglect my time in God’s word and allowing the Spirit to have control in my life, my relationship to my husband isn’t at all what it should be because I need that daily nourishment and encouragement to be the wife I’m called to be. It’s not an issue of what anyone wants me to do but what God knows is best. My relationship with Christ then just overflows into my marriage. I see what you’re saying though, Beaze. But I’m not talking about a religious experience- rather a personal relationship with Christ.

  4. February 19, 2011 2:15 pm

    God first, marriage first, whatever…There’s a book out with a title that says something about like this; you want to learn to love God, learn to love your husband (paraphrasing). I should have grabbed the book and buried myself in it for awhile. Loving God and/or Jesus is a lot easier for me than loving my flesh and blood husband with all his foibles, his flesh, his demands.
    Good luck on your project, Samantha. It is an awesome goal. I’m there with you, running the race that is a thousand times longer than a marathon (we’ve been married over twenty-five years now, and a lot of our passion has gone into raising our sons).

    • February 21, 2011 10:11 pm

      thank you for your thoughts Mary. I really appreciate them and your wisdom. – Samantha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

